JESUS CALLING by Sarah Young

Jesus Calling: 365 Devotions For Kids (Hardcover) First, I want to thank Book Sneeze for giving me a complimetary copy of this book to read. I loved this 365 day devotional directed to children, ages around 6 to 14. I wish I would have had this book for my children when they were growing up.

Each day begins with a title, a scripture, then a two to four paragraph devotion, designed to show the reader the importance of spending quiet time with the Lord daily. It is written as if the Lord Himself, is speaking directly . At the bottom of the page is additional scripture to look up and read.

I hated having to read it so quickly to review it. Each page was so rich, showing how much Jesus loves us unconditionally and that He desires us to spend time with Him. This is a quote for November 12, “Instead of trying to work for My blessings, I want you to receive them thankfully. I give you good gifts because I love to see your joy when you receive them. So open your hands and your heart, and accept My blessings gratefully. This brings Joy to you and to Me.”

It also shows how you should bring your sins and mistakes to God. This is a quote from April 10, ” You are safe with Me. Bring Me your mistakes; I won’t laugh at you. Bring Me your sins; I won’t keep reminding you of them. I am here to forgive you, to encourage you, and to love you. Nothing is wasted when you bring everything to Me. My grace can transform even your sins and mistakes into something wonderful–much like I transform a caterpillar into a magnificent butterfly. Trust Me
with everything, and I will give you ‘wings’ to soar through life with me”.

I really loved reading this and think it would be a wonderful gift for a young person. I have recommended it to “several grandmas” already. The book has an old look to it. I am not sure that I like that but you can’t tell a book by its cover!!

Loading…
Leave a Reply

