A COLLECTION OF WEDNESDAYS by Amy Gaither Hayes

Amy Hayes spent her Wednesday mornings writing this book.  She says, “This involves coffee, silence, and the space to think, process and create”.  This is not  a book you pick up and read cover to cover in one setting, even though it isn’t a real long book.  Perhaps this book should be read like I read the Bible. I read some and then mediate and think upon what I read. 

There are 14 chapters that include poetry and personal, intimate stories of her life. She talks about her family, friends and her God.  She admits that her faith isn’t always strong, that sometimes she has doubts. I like that she is honest and transparent .

But the page I loved the most was page 183 and I quote, “What I’m really after is the kind of wisdom that bears fruit, that grows the good stuff.  I want a rich harvest–not money and houses and more stuff, but kids who know who and whose they are; a long and rich marriage; a resume of faithfulness;  a reputation for joy and delight and humor and gentleness and hard work; a full orchard of abundant life, here on earth as it is in heaven.  I long to see my roots grow deeper and deeper into the rich loam of God’s grace.  This, I think, is wisdom: to cultivate a full harvest of love, joy, peace, patience, gentleness, self-control, goodness, kindness, faithfulness.  Isn’t that what each of us long for?” 

Can you imagine how much better life would be on this earth if we each had that kind of wisdom.  If we each had a full harvest of the fruit of the Spirit, our world would be so different.

I would like to thank Zondervan for giving me a complimentary copy of this book to read and review. Thank you Amy Hayes for A Collection of Wednesdays.

Leave a Reply

