THE PART-TIME VEGAN by Cherise Grifoni

This book has 14 chapters in it with the first being, “Veganism 101”  Ms Grifoni tells how to get started and lists what is in a vegan pantry. “Arrowroot, egg-replacers, nut milks, and soy yogurt are just to name a few”.  Chapter 2 contains recipes for dips & appetizers, chapter 6 super soups, chapter 9 pasta dishes. So you can see she covers a lot of different recipes, including “sinful desserts.”  Chapter 13 has 11 dinner plans.

This book was given to me free of charge by Book Sneeze, a division of Thomas Nelson Publishers. I wanted it because I am on Weight Watchers and wanted some new ways to fix fruits and vegetables.  I didn’t really understand what a “Vegan” is.  Some of the recipes sound good and I will try them,  but a lot of them have ingredients my local grocery store does not carry, such as nutritional yeast.  But she does include a resource page where you can order ingredients for vegan cooking.  Since, I am not interested in becoming a “Vegan”, I would not spend the extra money to get such things as the soy milk, almond milk, coconut milk, etc.  I will just substitute skim milk for them and see how they turn out.  The recipes sound healthy but I wish she would have listed the nutritional information for each recipe.

Leave a Reply

