THUNDER DOG by Michael Hingson with Susy Flory

I love dogs and really enjoyed this book.  The subtitle of this book is,” The True Story of A Blind Man, His Guide Dog & The Triump of Trust at Ground Zero.”  Michael Hignson was born blind and taught by his parents that he could do anything anyone else could do and did he prove them right! He even rode a bike as a child. I could write an entire page on this amazing man and his amazing dog, Roselle.  But the story involves Michael and Roselle and how they climbed down 1,463 steps to safety out of the  World Trade Center on 9/11.  Roselle did exactly as she had been trained and stayed calm the entire way down.  This is quiet a story but I would like to quote the author in the Introduction. “The real story, in my mind, isn’t how I got out of the World Trade Center. It’s how I got there in the first place.”  Michael Hingson may be blind but he certainly in not handicapped.

I highly recommend reading this book. It is a fast read and very inspiring. I received this book free from Thomas Nelson’s Book Sneeze Program.

Leave a Reply

