Archive for October, 2011

MATTHEW Gift From God by Sean Haines

October 31, 2011

This is such an amazing love story written by a father about his incredible son, Matthew. It started out detailing the life of Sean’s first-born son to his family by email.  Matthew was born on June 18, 1996. But is turned into the memoirs of his precious, precious son who died with cancer on January 22, 2005 after such a courageous battle.

Sean Haines published his emails, “to help others find inspiration and faith in their own lives, and to never give up, not matter the cards they are dealt.”  This book sure show you what pure, unconditional love truly means as the author hoped it would.

   You will laugh and cry with this dear family as they deal with Matthew’s cancer.  How one small child can be so courageous is beyond my understanding.  But I do know that it can only be done by the grace of God. If everyone could have a father like Sean, what a better world we would live in. 

I would like to thank Dorrance Publishing Company for giving me a complimentary copy of this book to read and review.  My prayers are with families that are struggling with cancer at this time. May they read this book and be encouraged. 

100% of the profits from the sale of this book will be donated to the Matthew David Haines Foundation.  “Bringing Hope and Happiness to Children with Cancer”.  Thank you Sean Haines.


October 31, 2011

This is the second book in a series, the first being BESIDE STILL WATERS.  The book’s main character is Marianna Sommers.  She is Amish but has grown to love her new neighbors in Montana. She has become very fond of Ben, an English man who introduced her to God and music.  But she still has feelings for Aaron, an Amish man that she always thought she would marry.  To complicate things, Aaron travels to Montana  to see her and has an accident and must stay with her and her family while he heals.

Both Ben and Aaron care for her deeply.  But Ben walks away to keep from hurting her but they are both missing each other so much.  You can just feel Marianne’s heart hurting as she tried to do the right thing, to obey God in her decision.

I really enjoyed this book and can’t wait for the third book to come out so I can see who she marries. If you love reading sweet, Amish love stories, you will not be disappointed in this one. Also, reading the first in a series is always a good idea not mandatory for this series. 

I would like to thank B& H Publishers for giving me a complementary copy of this book to read and review honestly.

FALLING TO PIECES by Vannetta Chapman

October 14, 2011

Callie’s aunt dies and she inherits her quilt shop in the Amish community of Shipshewana, Indiana.  So she leaves Texas to go to Indiana to sell her aunts shop and pick up her aunt’s dog, Max.  But when she gets there, Deborah, an Amish woman, befriends her and asked  Callie to reopen the shop.  A realtor, also, advised her to reopen the shop to bring more buyers to the shop. So Callie reopened the shop until she could get a buyer.

Everyone in Shipshewana is very friendly, except for Mr.Stakehorn, the editor of the local paper.  He printed lies about her and her shop in the newspaper.  When she confronted him in the coffee shop, she got so irritated with him, she poured her glass of iced tea on his head and left.

Later, she was going to take proof to him that he was wrong when she entered the newspaper office and found him dead in his chair. Things did not look good for her. Others had seen her confrontation at the coffee shop and with him dead and her” finding him” things did not look good for her.  Especially, with the overzealous policeman in charge of the case.

 I enjoyed reading this book and would like to thank Book Sneeze for my complementary copy to read and review.  I was so disappointed at the way it ended. I wanted to know more but then I found out this is the first of three book series. So I guess my questions will be answered in the other books.


October 6, 2011

More than twenty years ago, Chai Ling led the protesters at Tiananmen Square and became China’s most wanted woman.  She describes what growing up in China was like.  She tells her story with humility and honesty.  She gives details of what lead up to the protests and how difficult the situation became.  She had to go underground and eventually came to the United States with her husband in a cargo box and had to be in the box for 5 days.  In the box, her husband told her he is in love with another woman!  Can you imagine her heart ache!

Fast forward. In the United States she remarried, has three children, becomes a christian, and has a successful business and a burning  desire to help the Chinese people. She started All Girls Allowed to aid in ending abortion, infanticide and abandonment of baby girls in China. Because of the one child rule in China, more abortions have taken place than births. She feels the hurt of those who had to have an abortion, since she had four, herself. I love one of her statements.  “The message we need to communicate is not, ‘Come to God and He will forgive you’, But ‘Come to God and He will love you, heal you, and free you,'”

This book was excellent. It was well written with such emotion. Chai Ling had such courage.  I would like to than Tyndale Publishers for giving me a complementary copy of this book to read and review.